Characterizations

I’ve been reading about developing characters.  It seems that I can’t just describe a person but have to find some special way to write about a particular character that makes him or her stand out as different.  I’ve been trying to describe my mother-in-law.  She had a large bone structure, taller than her husband, extremely heavy, wispy hair, corner of her mouth turned down, loud voice.   None of that makes her different.  So-o-o I’ve closed my eyes and tried to picture her.  It seems that the one thing that stands out to me when I do that is her hands.  Now I have to think of a way to write about her hands that would make her unique to a reader and still give a visual picture of her. 

This is going to be a problem.  Any thoughts?

About suesmemoir

I'm a retired business teacher with a new endeavor. I'm hooked on creating a memoir for my family. I've been reading books about writing and taking college classes in order to make my work come alive. This is my first attempt at creative non-fiction. Prior to becoming engrossed in the craft of writing, I wrote college term papers and business letters. Please join me as I share the process with you and continue on my journey of memoir writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Characterizations

  1. Althea Boushie says:

    Sue, I applaud your efforts and know that writing a memoir is both challenging and rewarding. In regard to your mother-in-law, she indeed had large hands and I will be interested to read where your description of her hands leads your readers. Everything about her was large. You could say that she filled a doorway and over powered a room, as well. Good luck in your endeavor. Althea

    • suesmemoir says:

      Yes, Althea, I did get your comment. Marie says the one thing she would pick out about her mother is that she was always so loud. That’s a definite but I don’t know if it’s different. Also, I’ve been having tons of problems with the internet and spent half of yesterday on the phone with Time Warner trying to work things out. I don’t know if it’s right yet. Thanks for your comment. Let me know if you get this. Also, I’m not sure if readers can see the comments or not. I have to find out about that.

      • Althea Boushie says:

        Sue, I did get your comment and yes, your readers can read all the comments that are posted. Althea

  2. margi says:

    Oh my….you and Gladys again. Hands may be a more neutral territory

    And you could put your good looking runner tonight in the “Wishful Thinkin” chapter!!

    Margi

Leave a comment